Simply Nautical

Simply Nautical.

IMG_3340

The bride wanted a simple cake with a touch of a nautical theme (the rope knot) and their color was navy.

5 tiers of white chocolate cake with raspberry filling and blue velvet with cream cheese filling, all with vanilla buttercream and covered in vanilla marshmallow fondant. This was probably the heaviest cake I have ever made! The bottom tier alone weighed more than the average 3 tier cake. I had to call upon help when it came time to deliver it (Thank you, Andrew!).

And as a surprise for the groom, the bride wanted a small cake to display some of his interests… like golfing, cigars, Fireball Whiskey, boating, and Chihuahuas. I have to say that I really didn’t think I could pull that one off. None of these things really went together… or did they! Thanks to my talented sister, Brandy, who dreamed up the idea to tie them all together, this little guy was born!

IMG_3345

A Chihuahua adorned with a golf cap (complete with a dimpled golf ball for the pompom), holding a shot glass of Fireball Whiskey in one paw, and a cigar in the other, while floating in the water on a life preserver! And to ‘tie’ it together with the wedding cake, I bordered it with a rope and the same knot!

IMG_3350

Congratulations to Brittany and Daniel!

~September 6, 2014~

Leave a comment