🍫Chocolate-Covered Chocolate Cookies with Chewy Caramel🍫

To celebrate the end of my daughter’s ⚽️ soccer ⚽️ season, I created these AMAZING chocolate-covered chocolate cookies with a chewy caramel layer. I stayed up entirely too late making them (due to the Chocolate mold only having 2 soccer balls on it!!). But, they are so totally worth it!! The melty, creamy milk chocolate, the not too soft but not hard and crunchy chocolate cookie, and the chewy delicious caramel… if it didn’t take so long to make each one,I think I would have made several dozen and froze them! 

First, I made some dark chocolate cookies. Flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking soda, salt, egg, and oil-rolled out between 2 layers of waxed paper, to make cleaning up a snap!


I rolled them super thin, cut them, froze them on a lined cookie sheet until hard, baked them off, then trimmed them if needed. 


(If dried out and thrown in the food processor, they would make a nice cookie crumb crust for a cheesecake!)

While the cookies were baking, I rolled out some caramels and used the same cookie cutter to cut them into rounds. The ‘scraps’ that were cut off, that weren’t eaten!, were combined and rolled out to make more caramel discs. 

Also happening while the cookies were baking, the chocolate was being melted. This ceramic covered metal bowl fits perfectly into the top of my big pasta pot, without falling in! I just throw a little water in the pot, set the bowl in the top, and turn on the stove. The chocolate melts and I turn the heat down to the very lowest setting just to keep it warm and melty. 


Now comes the part that takes forever-the chocolate molds! I highly suggest that you have multiple molds if you want to try these. It will go much faster that way!! I used a baby spoon to place the melted chocolate and spread an even coat into the soccer ball molds. Then into the freezer to let it set up. Back out of the freezer to add the caramel and cookie discs. Coat the bottom with more chocolate to close it off and pop it back into the freezer to finish setting up. When they were set, I turned the chocolates out of the mold to reveal these soccer cookie/candies.


They are my current favorites! They are sort of like having a chocolate version of the Twix bar! Delicious!


(Sorry about the chipping nail polish-mine doesn’t last very long, even the gel kind! But, I’ve been painting it turquoise every few days this whole month of October for Dysautonomia/Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome (POTS) awareness month!! #makesomenoiseforturquoise)


A better shot of non-chipping turquoise


My beautiful POTSie soccer player. She may have been winded from her POTS, but she still did her best and I’m super proud!

Great season, Team Nicoletta’s! Thank you, Coach C and Nicoletta’s Italian Cafe!

Leave a Reply

