Archive for January 4, 2014

Lace Wedding Cake

1557725_10153252997967355_418838091_n

I was happy to be able to make this cake for today’s beautiful wedding, and I was honored to be able to stay and take photos throughout the day! The setting was amazing-a luxury ranch just a few minutes from my home that I never even knew existed! The sun was shining and it was balmy (okay, maybe not balmy, but compared to the double-digit negative temps we have had lately, today felt like a heat wave!).

IMG_0151

The snow-covered drive lead me to a big ranch overlooking the mountainside. Everything about this ranch was grand-from the fields and fencing, to the entrance, to the woodwork, to the heated floors, to the fireplaces, to the tub so big you could swim in it, to the glass floor overlooking the indoor pool, to the warm and friendly staff that hosted the event and put out such a great brunch for us all to feast on! (As if you couldn’t tell, I highly recommend the B & B Ranch!).

 IMG_0155

I got to sneak into the master suite as they were getting ready for the ceremony. The kids were learning to play chess, while the adults were primping and making sure everything was in order. And it was… so maybe there were a few things forgotten, but that wasn’t going to put a damper on such a great day.

As this friend from my childhood stood there exchanging vows with the love of her life, I saw such happiness, such love, and I couldn’t help but get choked up! It was absolutely beautiful. And the fact that they included their sons in the ceremony made it just that much more heartwarming. It may have been a very intimate wedding with just a few guests, but it was one of the most heart-felt and sincere that I have been to in a long time.

 1513266_10202353584514330_137248878_n

Congratulations to Aileen and Crystal!

*About the cake… I was asked to make two tiers-one vanilla with strawberry filling and one carrot with cream cheese filling and I was told that their colors were eggplant and dark orange. I frosted both tiers with buttercream and covered with marshmallow fondant. I piped the eggplant colored ‘lace’ on the fondant and topped it with some dark orange fondant roses. The design was left completely up to me-I had always wanted to pipe some lace, but I had no idea that the wedding dress would be lace, too!