Surprise Baby Reveal Cupcakes

Jesse and Mathia have a beautiful little girl, Sophia, who is about to be a big sister! They asked me to make them some cupcakes for a baby reveal gathering. The cupcakes were to be a white cake with cream cheese frosting. In the middle, these cupcakes would have a surprise cream filling that would be colored either blue or pink. You see, nobody would know, until they bit into their cupcakes, what the sex of the baby was! I was thrilled to pieces to be able to make these cupcakes for this sweet family! I even had the envelope from the ultrasound technician in hand more than a week in advance and didn’t breathe a word of it-even to my husband! When it came time for me to color the cream filling and fill the cupcakes with it, I wouldn’t allow anyone into my kitchen! This was a top-secret mission I was on!

I filled the cupcakes, piped on the cream cheese frosting, sprinkled a yellow sanding sugar for a delicate, neutral, pop of color, and topped them off with white gum paste stars that were outlined with yellow edible ink and spelled BABY in the middle. Here’s how they came out:

picture466 (2)

Congratulations, Jesse and Mathia…

994848_10151534003948811_229387736_n

Sophia is going to have a baby SISTER!

Leave a Reply

