Cake Among Cousins

Growing up, I didn’t know my father’s mother’s family. I didn’t even know my grandmother’s maiden name until I was probably in high school. This family had moved into our school district and told us they were related to us. No way! We didn’t know them, how could they be related to us? That’s when I finally realized what my grandmother’s maiden name was; and that yes, in fact, this family was related to us. However, I didn’t know that there were others out there. It wasn’t until the last couple of years that I started to research my ancestry. I began reaching out to family members that I knew were ‘out there’ but never knew growing up. I had asked about my grandmother’s family and was told to get in touch with a particular woman who would be able to introduce me to family members. I did, and I’m so glad I did! I learned that there are so many cousins out there; quite a few of which live fairly near to me. Facebook has been a great tool for me to begin to get to know all these new found cousins of mine.

One of my cousins asked me to make a cake for her daughter who was turning 15. She told me that she liked the color orange, that she was into singing, dancing, and enjoyed playing keyboard, saxophone, and clarinet, too. The design was left up to me, and this is what I came up with!:

picture332

picture333

picture334

picture335

picture329

It was great to finally meet a few of my cousins in person today and I can’t wait for the next time we can get together!

Happy Birthday, Miranda!

Leave a Reply

