Lemon and Pomegranate Scrumptiuousness!

Pomegranate is an odd fruit. I mean, how many fruits do you know of where you eat the seeds. That’s it… just seeds. The seedsĀ are the fruit. You slice open the fruit with a large knife and there they are-in all their juicy glory. I love pomegranate. I remember my sister eating one a long time ago-picking out the seeds with her bare hands one by one… the red stains on her fingertips. There is an easier way to do it. A quicker way… where you won’t get stained! Slice the pomegranate in half, turn it upside down over a bowl, and hit it with the side your chef knife (or I like to use a little scrapbooking hammer that is used to set grommets). The seeds just fall out into the bowl!

Lemons are another odd fruit. “Lemon tree very pretty and the lemon flower is sweet; but the fruit of the poor lemon is impossible to eat.” Love that song… and love lemons-even though they are so tart!

You might think that these two odd fruits have no business being together. I mean, how could I possibly create something out of seeds and sour?

My mind, and taste buds, were so far ahead your thoughts right now! Lemon Poppy-seed Cupcakes to start!

One of my favorites! But how did I combine that with Pomegranate seeds?

I juiced them! Only, I don’t have a juicer. I just threw them in my food processor and then strained them with a small mesh strainer-keeping only the juice and pulp and discarding the seeds.

I added just enough sugar to make a simple syrup.

I brought the juice up to a boil and then turned the heat down. I let it simmer until it reduced by almost half.

I used the pomegranate syrup to make frosting!

Creamy pomegranate frosting on lemon Poppy-seed cupcakes with just a few whole pomegranate seeds on top. They are the perfect blend of flavors and the seeds on top add a crunch… and a squirt of tartness!

I even saved some for a lucky customer. Who wants some lemon pomegranate scrumptiousness?!!?

Leave a Reply

