Chocolate Molten Cake

This post was inspired by Chris Riley, a fellow blogger that I follow. Be sure to check out Chis’ blog at http://rileysrandomreview.wordpress.com .

 

We may live an ocean apart, but we share a love of food. Chris is a cheese hound, a pizza connoisseur, a Panini fan… with an appreciation for good desserts… In fact, here’s a link to the choclandia post that reminded me of my Chocolate Molten Cake. It made my mouth water enough for me to want to make it right away:

http://rileysrandomreview.wordpress.com/2012/07/29/choclandia/

Now for my Chocolate Molten Cake!

In my Pyrex 1 quart measuring cup, I started with

4 level Tablespoons of my favorite, readily available, cocoa powder.

Hershey, of course! To this, I added

2 Tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons of solid vegetable shortening.

5 1/2 Tablespoons granulated sugar. And

1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter.

I put the glass measuring cup in the microwave for about a minute and a half until the butter and shortening had melted. I stirred to make sure the mixture was smooth and everything was completely dissolved. I transferred this chocolatey goodness to a bowl so that I had room for the rest of the ingredients. First I sifted in

1 cup confectioner’s sugar

Stirring as I went along. Then I added

2 whole eggs and

2 egg yolks. Stirring again.

 

After the eggs were incorporated, I sifted in the last ingredient:

6 Tablespoons of All-Purpose Flour.

After all the ingredients were incorporated, I used my favorite Reynolds StayBrite (TM) baking cups and scooped the batter equally into them.

You could butter some souffle or custard cups; but I didn’t have those. Besides, I find these easier to use, and just as easy to turn the cake out after it is baked.

I baked these individual molten cakes at 425 degrees Farenheit for about 4  to 4 1/2 minutes. They will look like a necked cupcake when they have been baked off.

Some centers looked a little gooey (which is what you want) The ones pictured above are just a little too well done-but still worked (those were baked for about 5 minutes).

After about 4 minutes, the cake is baked enough to pull the foil baking cups away from it and turn it upside down on a plate. I gave it a simple dusting of confectioner’s sugar and dug in! (sorry for the blurry picture-guess I was shaking from low blood sugar and in need of some chocolate molten cake!)

I’m not usually a big fan of warm cake… but this one oozed the molten chocolate! It was like the hot fudge of a hot fudge sundae-a crucial component! Now, if my taste buds could have stopped watering long enough for me to get some vanilla ice cream to top it off, this would have been even better.

Recipe:

Chocolate Molten Cake

4 Tablespoons Cocoa

2 Tablespoons + 2 teaspoons solid vegetable shortening

5 1/2 Tablespoons granulated sugar

1/2 cup butter

1 cup confectioner’s sugar

2 eggs

2 egg yolks

6 Tablespoons All-Purpose Flour

Vanilla ice cream (optional; however, it’s like the ‘icing on the cake’!)

Directions:

Use a large microwavable bowl to combine the first 4 ingredients. Microwave for about 1 minute and 30 seconds, until the butter and shortening are melted. Stir to make sure the sugar and chocolate are dissolved and incorporated.

Sift in confectioner’s sugar.  Stir. Whisk (or stir) in eggs and yolks and then stir in flour. Scoop the batter into the baking cups and bake for ~4 minutes.

As soon as the cakes come out of the oven, turn each of them out onto individual dessert plates and top with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

(Begin making this about 20 or 30 minutes before serving). This recipe will make about 8 individual Chocolate Molten Cakes.

If you haven’t already visited my friend, here’s the link again. Read Chris’ blog, Like it, Follow it…..I do! : )       http://rileysrandomreview.wordpress.com

 

3 Comments »

  1. Thanks very much, both for the link and the recipe! Can’t wait to try this, I’ll probably make it at the weekend. You can be sure I’ll post about it!

    • cakesbykat Said:

      No problem! You had my mouth watering and I couldn’t wait too long to make this, as my taste buds just wouldn’t let me!

  2. […] https://cakesbykat.wordpress.com/2012/08/02/chocolate-molten-cake/ Share this:TwitterFacebookMoreStumbleUponDiggRedditPinterestTumblrLike this:Like17 bloggers like this. Posted in Food, Travel […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

