♪♫Take Me Out to the Ball Game♪♫

What do you think of when you think of baseball? Me, I’ve never been big on watching the games on tv… but I live in Cooperstown (home of the Baseball Hall of Fame)…. with a husband that not only loves baseball, watches baseball, but also manages a baseball shop! It’s kind of hard not to let baseball creep into your thoughts or life in some way, shape, or form. So, when asked to do a cake for a private party during Baseball Hall of Fame’s Induction Weekend, the foodie in me turned to thoughts about baseball FOOD!

I’m sure you have all heard the song ♪♫ Take Me Out to the Ball Game ♪♫ (I bet a lot of you are even singing it now! If not, you will be. It will be in your head for the rest of the day, I’m sure!) Remember the part that says ♪♫ Buy me some peanuts and Cracker Jack…♪♫ ? Well, now you have my inspiration for the cake! Cracker Jack!

But not just any Cracker Jack… Homemade Cracker Jack! I even searched the web to find an image for an old cracker jack box and I made my own.  I also made gum paste peanuts and a hot dog,

and kneaded Tootsie Rolls until pliable and then rolled it into a snake and shaped it into a pretzel… with large sugar crystals for ‘salt’!

My daughter even had a hand (or mind, rather) in the creative aspect of the cake! I told her that I wanted to have the Cracker Jack sort of  ‘exploding’ from the top of the cake. She thought it would also be cool if instead of piping a border, I used the popcorn as  the border! So, I ‘super-glued’ the border on with royal icing; and then I ‘strung’ the popcorn on wire so that I could bend and shape it and then just insert it into the cake.

This cake’s design wasn’t the only fun part-with the Cracker Jack, peanuts, hot dog, pretzel, white chocolate baseball, and the song lyrics piped in red. Inside each tier were two very moist layers of vanilla cake… with a layer of chewy chocolate brownie in between! YUMMM! I was told, by more than one person, that it was the best cake they had ever had! Seeing people’s faces when the cake was delivered, and hearing comments like that, make the lack of sleep (due to the time spent working on it) well worth it!

Leave a Reply

