Watermelon Mint Lemonade

This was my twist on two refreshing summer favorites… watermelon… and lemonade. I figured they would make an unusual but thirst quenching drink.

Watermelon Mint Lemonade

10 cups of cubed, seedless watermelon

2 cups of lemon juice

2 cups of water

fresh mint

I don’t have a juicer, so I cubed the watermelon and used my blender to turn it into juice. Then, I strained and discarded the ‘pulp’ and put the juice into a pitcher along with the lemon juice, water, and chopped mint. I put the watermelon mint lemonade in the refrigerator to allow the flavors time to marry. This lemonade will need a good stir before serving. If the watermelon isn’t sweet enough for your taste, you may add a little simple syrup (combine 1/2 cup of sugar with one cup of water in a saucepan and heat until all the sugar dissolves. Cool before adding to your lemonade).

This lemonade was a big hit with people of all ages! So refreshing and not a lot of added sugar because the watermelon was sweet enough on its own.

4 Comments »

  1. PushDumpFatButton Said:

    Reblogged this on Push Dump Fat Button.

  2. chefconnie Said:

    Watermelon lemonade is one of our favorite summer time drinks in my household. I have never added mint but since I am growing some now I think I will. Great post!

    • cakesbykat Said:

      Thanks! Mint just wakes things up (as if the watermelon and lemon wasn’t enough for that! lol). I love using fresh herbs. Been trying to grow some from seeds, but they are looking a bit drowned at the moment. I need to put holes in the planters and get them outside, but they’re might still be a bit too fragile.

  3. Ash Said:

    For the first time in my life i’m having this weird watermelon craving so i’ll make sure i try it out. Thank-you for the beautiful recipe! 🙂
    (and the best part is, my diabetic Dad can have it too!!)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

