NOT Your Normal Chocolate Chip Cookies!!

If you are a chocolate lover, then the March 2012 issue of  Food Network Magazine is worth buying! It has tons of chocolate recipes… from chocolate cakes to choctails!! YUMM!!

I decided to try out their chewy chocolate chip cookie recipe (*recipe below) to see how it compared to my ‘go to’ chocolate chip cookie recipe. It’s a soft cookie, definitely NOT crispy (I can’t stand crispy cookies!). Good flavor and all… but it wasn’t all that different from my regular recipe. So, why would I stop there?

….I didn’t stop there!!

Yes, at first glance, this looks like your average chocolate chip cookie… but when you bite into it (especially when they are straight-from-the-oven warm)…

You find the gooey marshmallows and chocolate!!! It’s a S’MORE-stuffed chocolate chip cookie!! These were inspired by some S’mores we made one time when I was headed to a bonfire and couldn’t find any graham crackers at the convenient store. What they DID have, ended up being even better-soft, small chocolate chip cookies! They were some of the best S’mores I’ve ever had! That is until I made these cookies! I took a scoop of cookie dough (I used my medium Pampered Chef scoop), pressed a square of Hershey Bar on top, placed 4 miniature marshmallows on the chocolate, topped it all with another scoop of cookie dough, and made sure to seal everything in! I baked these at 350 degrees for 12 minutes. The hardest part was waiting for them to cool enough to bite into them!! So gooey-all that yummy S’more goodness wrapped up in a chocolate chip cookie-how could you go wrong?

Since the first experiment worked so well, I tried another! Looks a lot like the first chocolate chip cookies-only smaller, right? Well, this one is for my sister-in-law. You see, she’s a lot like me when it comes to loving food to its fullest. I once saw a gift given to Duff Goldman from Charm City Cakes by one of his employees (on the show called Ace of Cakes); and I knew right then and there that, someday, I would try it out myself. Well, that someday was yesterday! If you take a closer look…

You will see BACON!!! Yup, that’s right-BACON Chocolate Chip Cookies!!! If you like things sweet and salty (like chocolate covered pretzels), then you should give these a try! They are not overly salty and not overpowered by the bacon. You taste a regular chocolate chip cookie… and if you get a bite of bacon, you taste that, too. It’s the perfect blend to satisfy the salty and sweet taste buds at the same time.

*As promised, here’s the recipe I mentioned above:

CHEWY CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

Active: 30 min. Total: 1 hr 10 min (plus chilling and cooling) Makes: ~30 cookies

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, softened (I used salted butter and omitted the extra salt)
  • 1 3/4 cups packed dark brown sugar (I used light brown sugar)
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  1. Sift the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda together into a large bowl.
  2. Beat the butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar in a bowl with a mixer on medium-high speed until pale and fluffy, about 4 minutes (use the paddle attachment for a stand mixer). Beat in the eggs one at a time, then beat in the vanilla. Reduce the mixer speed to low. Add the flour mixture and beat until combined. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand. Press plastic wrap directly onto the surface of the dough and refrigerate at least 1 hour or preferably overnight (I put it in the freezer… who wants to wait all night?!!?)
  3. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees (I put it on 350). Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper (or use spray). Drop heaping tablespoonfuls of dough onto the prepared baking sheets, about 2 inches apart. (I used my Pampered Chef scoops). Bake until the cookies are golden around the edges but still soft in the middle, about 12 minutes. Remove the cookies from the oven and let cool 10 minutes on the baking sheets, then transfer to racks to cool completely.

(from March 2012 Food Network Magazine)

Leave a Reply

