A Nod to Plaid

An expecting mom is having a boy… and she loves teddy bears!

I started this cake with a 12×12″ vanilla tier with very pale blue buttercream frosting and a 6″ heart-shaped banana tier with a chocolate hazelnut filling and the same pale blue buttercream frosting.

In designing this baby shower cake, I was inspired by all the plaid laundry I had just hung up/folded (so much plaid!). It reminded me of my camp days… only this plaid wasn’t flannel. I used my #3 and #42 tips to pipe this ‘plaid’ look in yellow, blue, and green and then piped a shell border in blue.

The Teddy bears were made out of my home-made tan fondant and then the details were hand painted in yellow, blue, green, black, and red.

Welcome Baby!

Leave a Reply

