Our Little “Souvenir” Turns 6!

Is it possible for our first-born to be six years old already? Wasn’t it just yesterday that I was feeling her fluttery movements inside my growing belly? At least I remember the feeling as if it were yesterday. Probably the best feeling an expectant mom could ever feel. We were so happy to finally have our little “souvenir”; but we gladly would have gone on as many yearly vacations as we needed to in order to get her; because she was worth the wait. Our most treasured souvenir.

If it weren’t for wanting to meet our little girl so badly, I could have stayed pregnant forever. It was a great pregnancy and I truly loved every minute of it. It was an easy birth, too; since I did most of my laboring at home. My contractions were just two minutes apart and I was 9 1/2 centimeters dilated by the time we got to the hospital. By the time they told me to push, I was just minutes away from holding our precious little girl. The emotions that came flooding in the first moments of her life were so incredible. I never thought that it would hit us so hard… but it did! We were overwhelmed at her beauty and in disbelief that we created this perfect little baby.

Our little souvenir is now 6 years old! She has grown into quite a smart young lady with a zest for learning. Our young lady reads through books as fast as a baker goes through flour (and this baker goes through a LOT of flour!!)!

 She enjoys performing and especially loves to dance! 

Maya enjoys styling different outfits or even putting on fashion shows.  

She recently discovered that she likes horseback riding, too!

Maya has become quite the mother’s helper and was even awarded with a “Radically Responsible” certificate from her teacher last year.

 Oh, did I mention that Maya is a great designer, too? This is the birthday cake she designed for me to make her!

We are so blessed to have such a wonderful daughter. She is sensitive, caring, compassionate… all the qualities that you would want your child to be. We are extremely proud of our big girl and love her so very much!!!

Happy 6th Birthday, Maya!!!

Leave a Reply

