Hawaiian Wedding in NY

I was asked to do a wedding cake for a young couple getting married in central New York State. Their wedding was to be on Mother’s Day and have a Hawaiian theme to it! The bride asked me to do a 2 tier cake with “Hawaiian flowers” on it. I have never been to Hawaii… and the only green on my thumb comes from food coloring!!! lol. I asked the bride if she had specific Hawaiian flowers in mind, but she didn’t know her flowers either… so I did a little research.

After running my findings by the bride, the decision was made to go with Hibiscus and Calla Lilies; which, my friend Tim tells me, are quite toxic plants! Not these ones! They were made out of sugar! The bride’s colors were a vibrant orange, blue, yellow, and pink! I made several flowers so that I could later pick and choose which ones went where on the cake. I was a little worried about how I would be able to pull off such a wild color scheme… but in the end, it grew on me and I thought it came out pretty well.

My opinion didn’t matter though… what mattered is what the bride and groom thought. I was nervous when delivering it, as I am with any cake, but there was no need to be… The bride and groom were very happy with it!

Congratulations to the happy couple! I hope you felt the Hawaiian sun on this cold NY weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

