Coffee and Doughnuts!

I had a last-minute request for a birthday cake with coffee flavor tied in. Unfortunately, I didn’t have the time to make it in advance enough to let it set up… so delivery was a disaster! The top 2 layers had slid and I didn’t have any of my tools with me. I had to lift the top layers up and plop them back down on the bottom two layers. Frosting oozed out the sides and it looked like such a mess-a complete disaster!

However… backing up a bit… I tried out a new-to-me white cake recipe on this one. It tasted like old-fashioned doughnuts!! I made 4 thin layers of cake and filled them with a coffee fudge frosting. I smoothed out the edge and top with this fudge frosting, slung some melted chocolate across it, and topped it off with a single caramel rose! Who says coffee and doughnuts are just for breakfast? Mmmm… the taste of coffee and doughnuts… all in a cake!

Leave a Reply

