Archive for March 20, 2010

Plant a Seed…

Plant a seed and watch it grow… That’s exactly what 9-year-old Maggie did with giant sunflower seeds. As it turned out, she had

quite a green thumb! Her sunflowers grew so tall. They were beautiful, too-just like Maggie! 

When it came time for her birthday, I made her a cake and some cupcakes that showed off her love for gardening.

Plenty of sunflowers growing tall above the grass and a few scattered ladybugs, too. I had seen some cupcakes similar to mine that a friend made and had wanted to make a cake with sunflowers ever since. I let the chocolate cookie centers hang off the cake just enough so that when I added the stems, it would look like they were growing all around the cake. I also added grass on the cupcakes and the cake. It was fun to make and I’m pretty sure Miss Maggie liked eating them as much as I liked making them!

Celebrate!

Just a year ago, my dear friends were finally bringing their little baby home from the hospital. It was great cause for celebration! Not only did they have a new baby, but their son became a big brother, the wife was learning just how strong she was, and the husband was having a birthday!

With so much to celebrate, I made them dinner and an egg-free cake (big brother has allergies)! With today being yet another birthday, there is even more to celebrate! Big Brother has proven to be a very loving and protective brother… Mom has proven that she is SUPERMOM Dad has proven that he is SUPERDAD… and Baby… Well, Baby is proving all the statistics wrong! You see, this little guy has Down Syndrome; but that has not held him back any! He has come so far in just one short year! His physical development and strength has surprised us all. He doesn’t have a disability, but rather an ability to spread love and happiness! What could have been such an emotional setback for this family has brought them together and shown how much love and support they have for one another. I’m proud of each and every one of them. They are such an inspiration and I’m so glad to be able to call them my friends! Happy Birthday, Mike!

For more information on Down Syndrome, click on this link: http://www.ndss.org/