Spaghetti and Meatballs!

My nephew’s favorite meal is spaghetti; so when I was asked to make cupcakes for his birthday, I just had to make him spaghetti and meatballs! While I can’t take credit for coming up with the idea (“Hello, Cupcake!” gets the credit there), it was still my work of art that kept everyone guessing! Most people thought that it was really a platter of spaghetti and meatballs. Others thought that I put spaghetti and meatballs on top of cupcakes. No matter what they thought it was, they weren’t sure how they felt about it. Once I explained that it was really all dessert items-vanilla cupcakes topped with spaghetti colored icing*. Ferrero Rocher hazelnut chocolates were used for meatballs, strawberry preserves were used for sauce, and shaved white chocolate was used for cheese! I included a spaghetti fork on the platter for extra believability! I predicted that there would be some kids who didn’t like the strawberry preserves. For them, I did a smaller platter of ‘spaghetti’ and topped it with ‘butter’ and ‘cheese’ (not pictured here)! For the butter, I took yellow Starburst and shaped it to get that melting look and then I topped it off with ‘cheese’! And the question on everyone’s mind… how did they taste ? Fantastic!!

*A side note: my arms, hands, wrists, and back were killing me after piping all of that ‘spaghetti’! But the reactions I got were worth it and I would definitely do it again-so much fun!!!

Leave a Reply

