You Are My Sunshine

You Are My Sunshine by Anne Murray 

(click above to hear the song)

I have always loved the song “You Are My Sunshine” by Anne Murray. I used to listen to it as a kid on the record player. I have sung it to my own children, as well as many children that I have nannied or babysat for. It just brings an all-over warm and fuzzy feeling!

A person that is very dear to me, and many of my readers, is nicknamed Sunshine because she brings that same feeling whenever she is around. Last year was a difficult time for the whole family; but amidst all the loss and sadness, they threw her a birthday party to let her know how much she meant to them-how much she helped them through their times of need. I made this giant sunburst cake for Sunshine’s birthday party; where a humble gathering of family surprised her with food, gifts, and of course… cake! I made a round cake and surrounded it with cupcakes and then piped yellow ‘stars’ and a fiery orange ‘shell’ border. The face and sunglasses were just an added touch to bring a bit more whimsy.

I wanted to share this post with you all today for a very particular reason… As if Sunshine hasn’t been through enough in the past year, she just lost someone who has been a part of her family for the past 12 years. Although she will surely miss Bud, I wanted her to know that her own sunshine will live on in her heart… just as she brightens our day, his memory shall brighten hers!

1 Comment »

  1. giselle Said:

    Wow! Amazing Toner.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

